Trout Pond - Dusk

Trout Pond - Dusk

I am happy to report that Trout Pond – Dusk was just purchased by the Clear Lake Visitor’s Center in Woodruff, Wisconsin, near Minocqua. For the past two years I’ve participated in a program through the state of Wisconsin which connects artists and state institutions who have designated a percentage of their budget to purchase artworks for their buildings. It is called Percent for Art and last year two of my pieces were chosen for the Eastern Regional Headquarters of the Department of Natural Resources in Green Bay. I hope to deliver the artwork personally to Woodruff as I’ve really not had the opportunity to visit that part of the state.

This piece is one of three in a series which focus on a particular habitat altered by time and the elements: Spring, Dusk, and Fog. Dusk is silk charmeuse which was folded, dyed, folded again, dyed again, screen printed with thickened dyes and a paste that removes dye. Finally, many of the trout were hand painted, also with thickened dyes. My husband made the beautiful solid cherry hanger.

