I was just asked to be in a show by Richard Moninski, owner/artist of Green Lantern Studios in Mineral Point, WI and a lecturer at UW- Plateville. An opportunity was available for the gallery at UWP and he asked another fiber artist and myself to exhibit. I met Richard and his wife, Carol Spelic – also an artist, years ago through a mutual friend, and have had some pieces in shows at their gallery. This venue is much larger, though, and he asked for everything I could spare, the larger the pieces, the better. I was just starting a new Sandhill Crane piece and fortunately got it finished the night before I had to deliver the work. It’s 65″ wide and is a life size crane in flight.  I will take more photos of the piece hanging at the gallery in the next couple of weeks, but for now you can at least see a portion of the bird. The crane is hand painted and screen printed with the plants and animals present in its environment – both good and bad. It’s appliquéed to a piece of silk jacquard that was shibori dyed, and I’ve done the free motion stitching between the images with silk thread. The eye is fabric paint and powdered mica, giving it a golden shimmer.

The exhibit, Nature, Explained, will be up from October 31 – November 22, 2011. Pat Kroth, a fiber artist from Verona, Wisconsin, will also be exhibiting.

Time Traveler - Sandhill Crane

Time Traveler - Sandhill Crane

